Alexa+ vs Town

How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.

Alexa+Town
MakerAmazonTown.com, Inc.
Cheapest paid plan$19.99 per month (free for Prime members)Starter: $15/mo, billed monthly
Free tierYes: included with Prime; a free text chat on Alexa.com and the Alexa app with usage limits; free on compatible Fire TV devices for US customersYes: 30 chats per month and the Weekly Briefing routine, with no custom routines or triggers; a 7-day Pro trial at signup
PlatformsEcho devicesFire TVAmazon Alexa TabletsWebiOSAndroidWebiOSmacOSEmailSlackWhatsAppTelegramSMS
Can act onSmart homeCalendarShoppingRestaurant reservationsFood and grocery deliveryMusicEmail forwardingEmailCalendarFilesBrowserMessagesCodeCRM and work apps
Approval modelNot stated in detail. Amazon says Alexa+ can complete some web tasks behind the scenes without supervision, and On Screen Intelligence on Alexa Tablets is off by default and needs an opt in.By default it asks before it sends or changes anything; users can ease approvals per action, pre-approve email recipients, and let it finalize calendar bookings or scheduling replies without asking.
LaunchedFeb 26, 2025Not stated
Last updateOct 8, 2026: Amazon Alexa Tablets with Alexa+ built inSep 30, 2026: Town 2.0

See sources on the Alexa+ and Town pages.

Track both every week