Microsoft Copilot vs Rene

How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.

Microsoft CopilotRene
MakerMicrosoftSecond Enlightenment Limited (operated by Marumaru, LLC)
Cheapest paid plan$19.99/month (Microsoft 365 Premium, US)Not stated
Free tierYes: free Copilot chat within usage limits; agents and multi step tasks need a Microsoft 365 subscriptionYes: free to start, no credit card required (included usage not stated)
PlatformsWebWindowsmacOSiOSAndroidiMessageWhatsAppTelegramiOSWeb
Can act onBrowserEmailFilesCloud storageWindows settings and apps (announced for Copilot+ PCs)EmailCalendarBrowserShoppingMessagesCodeWork apps (Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub)
Approval modelMicrosoft says Copilot asks for approval or hands control back before sensitive actions, and users can stop, pause, take control of or delete a task. On Windows, local context and actions are described as working with the user's permission.Its FAQ says it can draft the next step and asks before anything sensitive is sent or changed; the founder's launch post says it always asks before it pays.
LaunchedSep 25, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Last updateOct 7, 2026: Copilot gets Windows hybrid intelligenceSep 17, 2026: iOS app version 1.1

See sources on the Microsoft Copilot and Rene pages.

Track both every week