Rene vs Underdog
How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.
| Rene | Underdog | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Second Enlightenment Limited (operated by Marumaru, LLC) | Conway Research |
| Cheapest paid plan | Not stated | Free |
| Free tier | Yes: free to start, no credit card required (included usage not stated) | Yes: the app is free; the maker says it earns a small share of purchases the assistant makes for the user |
| Platforms | iMessageWhatsAppTelegramiOSWeb | macOSiOSiPadOSWindows |
| Can act on | EmailCalendarBrowserShoppingMessagesCodeWork apps (Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub) | EmailCalendarMeeting notesDictationBrowserShoppingPayments |
| Approval model | Its FAQ says it can draft the next step and asks before anything sensitive is sent or changed; the founder's launch post says it always asks before it pays. | Official site says it gets the next step ready for the user's approval on sensitive tasks, and purchases are paid with a one time Link card the user approves. AI processing runs locally and an offline mode can block all calls home. |
| Launched | Sep 16, 2026 | Oct 2026 |
| Last update | Sep 17, 2026: iOS app version 1.1 | Oct 15, 2026: Underdog for Windows |
See sources on the Rene and Underdog pages.
Track both every week