Persona vs Rene

How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.

PersonaRene
MakerPersona (founded by Zach Yadegari)Second Enlightenment Limited (operated by Marumaru, LLC)
Cheapest paid planFree (Persona Band hardware: $179 one time early-bird price, regular $219; no subscription)Not stated
Free tierYes: using Persona in iMessage and WhatsApp is free, per the official Band FAQYes: free to start, no credit card required (included usage not stated)
PlatformsiMessageWhatsAppWearable (Persona Band, ships December 2026)iMessageWhatsAppTelegramiOSWeb
Can act onEmailCalendarPhone callsShoppingBookingsSubscriptionsEmailCalendarBrowserShoppingMessagesCodeWork apps (Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub)
Approval modelThe official FAQ says anything that spends money, sends words in your name or cannot be undone waits for your yes; TechCrunch reports payments run through external providers such as Stripe Link so the agent does not see card numbers.Its FAQ says it can draft the next step and asks before anything sensitive is sent or changed; the founder's launch post says it always asks before it pays.
LaunchedNot statedSep 16, 2026
Last updateOct 8, 2026: Funding and free beta reportedSep 17, 2026: iOS app version 1.1

See sources on the Persona and Rene pages.

Track both every week