Persona vs Town
How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.
| Persona | Town | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Persona (founded by Zach Yadegari) | Town.com, Inc. |
| Cheapest paid plan | Free (Persona Band hardware: $179 one time early-bird price, regular $219; no subscription) | Starter: $15/mo, billed monthly |
| Free tier | Yes: using Persona in iMessage and WhatsApp is free, per the official Band FAQ | Yes: 30 chats per month and the Weekly Briefing routine, with no custom routines or triggers; a 7-day Pro trial at signup |
| Platforms | iMessageWhatsAppWearable (Persona Band, ships December 2026) | WebiOSmacOSEmailSlackWhatsAppTelegramSMS |
| Can act on | EmailCalendarPhone callsShoppingBookingsSubscriptions | EmailCalendarFilesBrowserMessagesCodeCRM and work apps |
| Approval model | The official FAQ says anything that spends money, sends words in your name or cannot be undone waits for your yes; TechCrunch reports payments run through external providers such as Stripe Link so the agent does not see card numbers. | By default it asks before it sends or changes anything; users can ease approvals per action, pre-approve email recipients, and let it finalize calendar bookings or scheduling replies without asking. |
| Launched | Not stated | Not stated |
| Last update | Oct 8, 2026: Funding and free beta reported | Sep 30, 2026: Town 2.0 |
See sources on the Persona and Town pages.
Track both every week